Loons in Lake County — where to find them and who’s the expert

I have been watching loons in Lake county for many years in spring, thanks to David B. Johnson, the looney expert. Here’s a link to  story I wrote for davidjohnsonphotobysheryldevorethe Chicago Tribune/News-Sun about Dave and his loony trip. Enjoy. Photo to the left is David B. Johnson, the “loon” ranger. I snapped a picture of him while at a recent gull frolic.  I just love sharing natural moments stories with readers. I hope they get out and look for some loons. Let me know if this inspired you and if you found any loons. You can find them in Cook County and McHenry County as well.

Leave a Reply

