A common problem of journalists: Even experienced ones

Over the years, I have had my share of mistakes when working on journalistic projects, but the one that continues to plague me is not always spelling someone’s name correctly. I have vowed to double, triple check names, titles of organizations, but every once in a while, I get hurried and forget that third time’s a charm rule. Journalists: Double, triple check your sources’ names, titles, organizations — and always be aware that no matter how many years you have been involved in this profession, you can still make a mistake. Luckily for me, I caught a spelling error before it got to print and emailed my editor. But whenever I do that, it just hounds me constantly, reminding me to be careful, be accurate and be proud to put your name on anything you write.

Leave a Reply

